Bio

michael GIORDANO self portraitA native to New Jersey living in Texas, I grew up under the supervision of some pretty amazing women who helped me develop an appreciation for people, life, and the little nuances that make us who we are and define us as individuals. It wasn’t until much later in life that I met my biological father and brothers, and they too have contributed to the way I see and live life. And I like to think that I live my life through and by the art of making photographs.

I like making pictures. I use the term “make” instead of “take” because pictures have to be made, created, cultivated. I do more than capture moments. Being a young nomad and gaining experiences of living in LA, Miami, Dallas, and Milan, Italy give me an unusual eye in this city…and my connection with the people I shoot is part of what contributes to the composition of my photographs. And therefore, part of what makes each image special and unique. Overall, my ability to connect is the reason I’m good at what I do and coming up with solutions for the most difficult concept images.

Throughout my career, I’ve had the opportunity to shoot all over the country for commercial projects. I’ve not only lived but have worked in many different places, Milan, Italy being one of them and Dallas, Texas where I shot for JCPenney’s and other catalogs and LA for more catalog photography. Over the past decade, I have built a repertoire of faithful clients from dignitaries and celebrities to aspiring fashion designers. I view each job as an opportunity to learn, grow, and above all, connect with those I’m with.

I’d love to connect with you as well.

If you wish to get to know me a little more you can read my journal. On occasion, I help people with their camera’s Canon or Nikon. I teach all formats from 35mm, medium format, large format and digital.

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
Active member in good standing of the following organizations: Digital Cinema Society, American Institute of Graphic ArtsFashion Group International, Inc. and American Image Press.
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

Resources

Below is a list of websites, I like to visit (some are of my friends – Enjoy!):

 

Culture
Trendland: http://trendland.com

Magazines:
Design Boom: http://www.designboom.com
Photo District News: http://www.pdnonline.com
American Photo Magazine: http://www.americanphotomag.com

Graphic Designer – Magazine + Layout
Elisa G Creative: http://www.elisagcreative.com

Designer Kitchen Utentils + Cookware
Joseph Joseph: http://www.josephjoseph.com

Design:
Design Scene: http://www.designscene.net
dezeen Magazine: http://www.dezeen.com
Not Cot: http://www.notcot.org
The Khool: http://www.khooll.com
Core77: http://www.core77.com
StudioClues: http://www.studioclues.com
Design Pickings: http://www.designpickings.com
Smart Planet: http://www.smartplanet.com
Dornob: http://www.dornob.com


Electronics:

Apple Inc.: http://www.apple.com
Bang & Olufsen: http://www.bang-olufsen.com/en

Fashion:
The Sartorialist: http://www.thesartorialist.com
Hunter & Gatti: http://www.hunterandgatti.blogspot.com

Artists:
Emile Mika: http://www.arteamika.com
Ruben Alterio: http://www.rubenalterio.com

Wedding Planner : Utah, Texas & Destination
Michelle Leo Events: http://www.michelleleoevents.com

Icons + more
My site my way: http://icons.mysitemyway.com

Fashion Photographer
Michael Giordano: http://www.giofoto.com
Peter Han: http://www.peterhanstudio.com